Learn how to create annotations on your DroneDeploy maps to analyze them and share the results.
Overview of the Toolbox
If you look at the sidebar on the right, you can see Annotations and Tools options:
We have labeled them in the image above, and will be discussing each one below:
- Location marker and Elevation at a Point
- Distance tool and Elevation profile
- Area measurement and Surface area
- Volume Calculation
- Show/Hide Annotations
- Filtering and Sorting Annotations
- Changing Annotation Color
- Sharing Annotations
- Deleting Annotations
Before we dig into the different annotation types, it's worth going over the general annotation controls.
Here is an example annotation (from the Volume annotation example).
If you want to take note of a specific point, this is the tool for you. Once selected, you'll be asked to select a point on the map:
Moving it to a location of interest and clicking that location will generate a marker:
Here, we have selected to annotate the building. When clicking, you will now see the latitude and longitude for that location, a text box in which to add notes, and the annotation controls. Once the comment is saved, you will see your name and date of the comment. If you click on the images you will also be able to view your photos at native resolution.
Elevation at a Point
You can also find the elevation of a single point in your map by simply placing a location marker on the point of interest.
The Distance or line tool will allow you to measure the length of a straight line or a series of lines.
Here we measure the length of the field to be 4560.8 feet.
View the elevation profile or cross-section for a single segment of a line drawn with the annotations tool. This is helpful to:
-Measure the height of certain features
-Measure the slope of the line segment (height change/distance)
-See if an area is flat/bumpy/sloped
To use this tool:
- Create a line using the distance tool.
- Click on the line so you see the cross arrows.
- View the elevation profile in the map panel at the left.
Selecting an area of interest, you can start highlighting the area you care about. Let's highlight the weeds in the field to the north:
Every point you click on, will be adding to the boundary of the area in question. To close the area, click on the first point, or double-click on your last point.
Once complete, we can change the color and add text to remind us of what the area is. Here, the weed-filled area is 5.8 acres, as shown at the top of the note.
When you make an area measurement, we calculate both the flat 2D area and the 3D surface area.
Use our volumetric toolbox to analyze the volume of features on your map that have relevant 3D dimensionality. To learn more about volume calculation, please visit our Volume Measurement with Drones documentation.
Create Issues on Annotations
When you highlight an annotation, you can use the Add Issue button in the left panel to create an Issue. on the measurement. These Issues will be included in the final inspection report.
Note that adding an issue to annotation will change the color to orange. Check out our Inspection Report support document for an example!
Filtering and Sorting Annotations
You can use the Search bar to look for specific annotations by title and use the Filter menu to filter annotations by type.
You can also use the Sort options to organize annotations according to date created or date modified.
Changing Annotation Color
If you'd like to change the color of your current annotation, click on the small colored circle in the sidebar to choose a different color:
This section deals with what happens when annotated maps are shared. To learn more about sharing, see our Data Sharing documentation.
When sharing privately, other users can view, add and reply to existing annotations. This allows you to get external advice on a field, as well as highlight any issues you may find on other users maps. Other users can then create conversations around your data.
Please note that the visibility status of each annotation is currently saved to the map, meaning that if the user A turns off the annotation for stockpile 1 and then the user B goes and views the map, Stockpile 1 will still appear turned off.
When sharing publicly others will be able to view your annotations, but these will be at a read-only level:
To delete an entire annotation (and all conversations therein), click on the trashcan icon on the sidebar: